Enough revisions, it’s time to publish!

20140214-235141.jpg

Bloggers/Followers this is the moment I’ve been slowly making my way towards and the time has finally come. It’s time to publish my first book.

Today has to be one of the longest, yet most exciting days ever. I spent the majority of the day at my college campus. After classes, I spent hours reading over the last chapters of Hero’s Tale. Then it was into the publishing process.

There are three steps: Setup, Review and finally Distribution.

I’ve completed 3/4 steps of the setup process. I’ve gotten isbn’s, finished title info and obviously the cover is ready. The final step Is the interior. I decided to get assistance with it since it’s my first time doing this. So the pros
will be calling me sometime tomorrow in order to help me get things ready.

I’ll be honest and say I’m overly relieved now that I’m finished with the revision. This took so, so long. Next time around I will make things ALOT easier. Want advice on editing a book in a way that makes sure it’s perfect? Ok check this out

GOLDEN RULE-DO NOT read your story over multiple times AS you write it. What will happen is; you will get bored with your work. This happened when I was doing my final read with Hero’s Tale. I LOVED the story so much that when I wasn’t writing, I was reading finished chapters over..and over..AND OVER.

So once it came time to edit, it felt like actual WORK. You would think, hey I love this book, editing will be fun. Noo my friends it was tough and yes, it helps if the book is a fun read and fresh. But for me, I was on my 100th read during the 10 day push. I’m sure even Shakespeare got tired of reading his books. If you want the edits and revisions to be fun, SAVE THE READING FOR LATER. Seriously, it’s not going anywhere and it’ll still be brilliant. Write your story all the way through THEN read it.

Read these tips and I promise you’ll be rockin when it comes time to publish…at least I hope so πŸ˜€

1.Print out your manuscript! Don’t be an idiot like me and try to correct the document on the computer because you WILL miss things.

2. Have three different colored pens; one for typos and grammar, one for adding and deleting lines or dialogue;story related stuff and a third for extra stuff I can’t think of at the moment. USE THE PENS TO EDIT. Do not use your computer.

3.Separate your book into chapters. Edit it chapter for chapter. Take your time and read over each one SEVERAL TIMES. Do it until your eyes sweat(not possible..but you get the point)

4.Check for mistakes in your story. Maybe you called the main character the wrong name in a line. Perhaps it’s suddenly 2016 when it should be 2010 or the character is now 17 when she just said she was 18! Yes, I made all of these mistakes. Mixups in the story will happen. Especially when you stay up for extended periods of time as you write. Learn from my mistakes people. It’s not a game!

I’m seriously bookmarking this for myself, so when I’m ready to edit my next book in 3-6 months, it won’t take as long as it did. I remember back when I first wrote HT, how in love I was with the book. The first edit was fine, however I didn’t follow the above steps!

People read the book and quickly found typos! I read that book over maybe three times and still there were errors. That’s when I hired my editor. She went in and dug out all of the grammar errors, typos and did me a solid save. However, even editors miss things. I’m so glad I read over HER edit because I still saw things that were off. This is why I prefer doing things on my own. Only you know how perfect your book should be. So yeah, next time around things will be done differently πŸ™‚ it’s a learning process.

So with my final read out the way and publishing kicking in, you probably might wonder what I might do. I’m writing another book! Duh.

People think I’m insane. “Take a month off, relax,” they say. No way I love writing. I missed it and now that I don’t have to worry about deadlines, I can finally either finish a project or start fresh! I might just finish a current project though. I never get tired of writing stories, it’s the formatting and editing that makes me tired. But I won’t have to do that again for at least 3-6 months. XD

My first book was a romance novel. At the moment I have action, adventure, fantasy, more romance and some mystery. I’ve also been exploring the realms of erotica. I’m SO sorry followers. I was a little hesitant to write it and it was sort of tabbooish. But I had ideas and then I typed them, liked them and now I have a couple of erotic tales.

I’m pretty sure the next book I publish WONT be an erotica, then again, who knows. I might make some pseudonym so no one knows I made the next top selling erotica novel.

What even classifies as an erotica? Is there an actual guideline or no? Someone help me out here.

Well, I’m about to go take a long deserved hot shower, read a nice book and if there’s time, type some bits to a story I’ve been working on. Stay tuned for the progress with Hero’s Tale. Things are about to get HOT-pun intended.

I love this! If you LOVE romance or love to read in general FOLLOW THIS BLOG. Seriously, I follow back always and who doesn’t like mutual support? I’ve seen reviewers too. FOLLOW. Because I will need people to critique my books, good or bad, doesn’t matter. Some help is better than none at all. I’ll keep you guys updated. Thanks to all that follow me. If you have a fan page, I’ll be sure to follow you. Thanks followers πŸ™‚ Keep writing and blogging

20 thoughts on “Enough revisions, it’s time to publish!”

      1. I think it would count. But usually, writers, when it comes to erotica, they either write scene(s) (usually many) with explicit detail of being in the bed (winks) or don’t. There’s no sitting on the fence or else if there was just one, the reader would get a rude shock hahaha

      2. Lol, for me, if I read a random erotic scene, I’ll be interested hahah πŸ˜‰

        But if I were younger and normal, I’d immediately shut the book, screaming ‘my eyes, my innocent, innocent eyes!’

        Haha sorry.

    1. Yeah. It’s really hard not to read over chapters you write because; it’s “your” writing and you fall in love with it, and the story itself is fun to read.

      I limit myself to one reread per chapter. Sometimes I need to do a recap so I know what to write next. But I try not to read over them multiple times. Not even for typos or errors. That’s done in the editing process haha.

      Brainstorm>Draft>Peeredit>Revision>Final Draft

      All of these years of writing papers in school and I finally realize how important that stuff is! The writing process actually applies well to, well, writing. Ha, ha.

      I’m making a post about it sometime later.

  1. So excited for you…can’t wait to read it! I can totally relate to your comments about reading what you write. My sister and I were just discussing this topic today. As I’m working on my second book, I realize that I am being more critical and trying to edit myself as I go along. This is totally hindering my creative process and I need to just write and go back later to tweek everything.

    1. Yeah it’s all a learning process. As I write and publish, I feel so old yet so new to everything. But the more I work with this, the more I learn.

      The writing process is a pretty good guideline for novel writing. At least for me it is.

      Brainstorm>Draft>Peer edit>Revise>Final Draft.

      Those English teachers are geniuses. I regret all of those years I’m school where I loathed the idea of using this process. It’s a pretty useful method.

Leave a Reply

