A little case of coldfeet

Hey follwers and bloggers!

Cold feet, we all get it right? It’s perfectly natural to get when doing something VERY huge to you, like; marriage, asking someone out or PUBLISHING. Well I never thought that I would be the type to get cold feet until I realized that the day I start publishing is less than a month away. Things have been hectic this past week for me, mainly mentally.

Through this entire process I have been on FIRE. After my editor did her work with the book I blazed through each task with glory. I revised, I formatted, I set margins and trim-size, I formatted paragraphs and fonts. I did spacings, footers. I created this blog and Facebook fan page. I’ve enjoyed every moment of it. I learned so much about writing a book and still I continue to learn.

So a few days ago I started the final step which is the final read. As I start to question how literally EVERYTHING looks. I looked at everything from font size to paragraph structure and I started second guessing everything I placed so much time and effort in. Everything I had confidence in was now slipping away and suddenly things looked sloppy…to me.

Everyone else thought that it looked like a regular book. But I was just bugging out. So every time I tried to get through the final read I panicked and never got anything finished. I would get to chapter 2 and become overwhelmed to the point of needing to walk away. So Saturday came and it was me and the story in my study.

I want to do this. I want to publish my first book and start my career. It’s my time. So I sat there and tried to figure out what I wasn’t liking. I asked my father to look at it and he noticed extra spacing in my paragraphs. He showed me one of the novels I owned and I compared it. The way I separated my paragraphs weren’t done properly. It’s hard to explain but basically that’s what the issue was.

I still had extra spaces in my paragraphs even though I went through a first time and deleted them. All I need to do was keep the lines together and do a 1.5 space for the pages. So now I’m going through and doing that. It looks fine to me now and I still plan to storm through this and enter my dream realm of writing.

This is going a lot faster than I thought it would. Once you just sit down and work, the pace of things are surprisingly pretty good. Maybe my determination for all of this is what makes it all bearable. Even when I’m frustrated, this makes me happy. I’m chasing my dreams.

I’m updating from my college campus again. I think I’m going to update here each morning after class. It’s convenient and it’ll be easy to keep track off. My regular visitors probably noticed that I missed two days 😦 sorry guys!

Less than a month’s time to get things finished. I should be done on time. This is really exciting. Everyone who follows, comments, etc, thank you so much. It’s really motivating and a lot of my drive come from having this blog. Having people who root you on really takes you a long way.

I love this! If you LOVE romance or love to read in general FOLLOW THIS BLOG. Seriously, I follow back always and who doesn’t like mutual support? I’ve seen reviewers too. FOLLOW. Because I will need people to critique my books, good or bad, doesn’t matter. Some help is better than none at all. I’ll keep you guys updated. Thanks to all that follow me. If you have a fan page, I’ll be sure to follow you. Thanks followers 🙂 Keep writing and blogging

 

6 thoughts on “A little case of coldfeet”

  1. I’m glad to see your back, I wondered what happened to your updates. Getting overwhelmed is natural, just work through it and don’t give up.

  2. Good luck! I’m rather glad I haven’t tackled the indie thing yet. From what I see, doing a mix of traditional and indie seems to be best for long-term success. I just don’t have the time right now to do all that formatting and whatnot by myself and the multiple sets of eyes caught things that I read a dozen times and didn’t catch.

    I’m at that, “I don’t really believe it” stage. I suppose until I have someone buy it and read it and say it didn’t suck, I’m going to feel like I’m in limbo.

    1. The good thing about self-publishing is that you have full-control. I haven’t done “everything” by myself. I handpicked my own editor to help with certain things and other people are helping spread word about the book for a small percentage.

      This is just my career starter. I’m too impatient for traditional publishing. I’ve been writing for a while and when I heard the process could take a year, indie publishing became my first option.

      I definitely plan too swing both ways though. Indie publishing is just my career starter. Do you mind telling me about micro press?

      1. The only difference between small press and micro press is basically size. Mico= less than ~100 authors, very little staff (often a staff of maybe 2 or 3 people running it all). Sometimes micropresses build a base and become larger, established small or mid-press companies. Other times they disappear. That happens often in the small press world. The plus side is that you have almost as much control as with indie publishing, but you don’t have to foot the bill for anything AND they provide editing, formatting, cover art, etc. The downside is that they may or may not have the expertise and business acumen to make it all work. I published a short story with one company and 6 months later I still haven’t been paid. Editors jumped ship and ratted the owner out for bad management and poor financial decisions. It’s a risk one takes even with larger presses.

Leave a Reply

