Check out my interior design! Update 1-2-14 Check out

Alright. I got back on “Hero’s Tale” went through and attacked the formatting again. I’m about two steps done from finishing. I love this. I had one of my friends read it today. Not all of it but some and I love it when they sit for minutes getting intrigued and thrilled. I’m doing something right

HT2Ht1

This is how my interior will look. Finally, it looks like an actual book. I was really proud of myself. I was with my friend’s Tylor and Ariya at a Starbucks. I never thought I’d be the type to sit at a Starbucks and work on novels or other computer related things. I don’t even like coffee. But it was relaxing and I got a lot accomplished.

My final two steps to perfecting the inner design is to read through and make sure everything reads right and flows correctly. The final step is to do a final read to make sure there are no mistakes at all.

I keep asking for the opinions of others for these page designs. I asked a girl sitting beside me if she read. She said yes so I went ahead and asked for her opinion. I wanted to know how the book looks to the naked eye.

Does it look like an actual book, does the spacing look right, are there too many words per page, are the number headers too close to the text or are the footers too close? Things like that. I personally think those first two pictures look great.
But what do you all think about the below page?

3

Critique me followers/bloggers. Give me your best shots and don’t hold back. This is really exciting. After the book cover design is made i’ll be heading into publishing. Twenty-eight days until lift off xD

 

If you LOVE romance or love to read in general FOLLOW THIS BLOG. Seriously, I follow back always and who doesnโ€™t like mutual support? Iโ€™ve seen reviewers too. FOLLOW. Because I will need people to critique my books, good or bad, doesnโ€™t matter. Some help is better than none at all. I’ll keep you guys updated. Thanks to all that follow me. If you have a fan page, I’ll be sure to follow you. Thanks followers ๐Ÿ™‚ย  Keep writing and blogging

16 thoughts on “Check out my interior design! Update 1-2-14 Check out”

  1. Wow, looks good! Formatting is so hard. I’m impressed.

    I don’t know anything about formatting, but just as a reader, here are my thoughts:

    I like the horizontal bar at the top. I like the ‘chapter one’ in all caps. I like that you have the book and author name on there, but to my eye it’s a little crowded. I checked the book I’ve been reading and it looks like one page has the title and the other page has the author’s name.

    I might use one fewer blank lines in between the excerpt and the main text. Also, I sort of want the title and author name to be in the same font.

    All those are just sort of my personal preferences, though. Good luck!!

    1. There’s a lot of spaces to separate dialogue from narration. I thought that it would be confusing to mix character dialogue with multiple characters and or narration.

      So after someone speaks, I start a new paragraph. Sometimes dialogue will flow into a narration without a break, but only if I feel it flows right and it’s not confusing. It’s my first book, I’ll learn from this experience.

      Any advice on dialogue and narration?

  2. My opinion ; the spacing is different from all other novels I’ve seen. There’s no spacing between the paragraphs, only indents to indicate a new paragraph. Spacing would usually be used to show a different setting. This reduces the Page number greatly in novels. Something like that.

      1. Hahaha thank you Mr. Past. Also, I’m writing the plot now in email.. It’s taking a long time because I’m on my phone. My stupid android phone.

Leave a Reply

