Goodmorning!! I woke up on time!!!

Look who’s on time…ME! Last night I made the commitment to update this blog between the hours of 7-10 in the morning and evenings. So here I am.

So last night my lovely editor texted me around the evening. I basically go to her for opinions on pretty much everything related to the book. I handpicked her so it’s not like she’s some online agent.

The benefit of this is that I get to see her and have discussions and we talk on a weekly basis. She’s a pretty good borderline assistant. I say borderline because she’s so helpful and reliant. She just doesn’t make assistant money. Not yet anyway 🙂 I plan to up her pay the longer she sticks around and helps me through this.

We discussed plans for book covers last night. I think that a professional photograph on the front and back would be ideal for our first project. It’s simple and I have connections. She thinks that will look bad and wants to do a sketch, which I’m against because unless we get a very good artist that will look horrible on a book.

This is my first time being anyone’s boss so I have to balance kindness and assertiveness. I have to say what I need done while at the same time hearing her opinions and giving her a chance. I don’t want to come off as a jerk nor do I want to be a pushover. So I told her that i will do photographic designs and she can do her sketches. The one I like the most will be on the book. I believe that’s fair.

I believe I’ve been a fair boss. I pay her on time at a reasonable price. She gets bonuses for impressive work and I listen to her rather than just command. I do not let her run the show though. Say if she wanted to change character names or something like that, it wouldn’t happen. I just try to make sure I’m not only a firm boss, but a respectable one too.

So today is Christmas Eve. I need to gift wrap, and shamefully I must say there’s two gifts I need to get. I doubt I’ll be able to do any book work today but knowing me, I’ll find a way to sneak away to my little dimension and work on the designs. I’ll keep you all posted.

If you LOVE romance or love to read in general FOLLOW THIS BLOG. Seriously, I follow back always and who doesn’t like mutual support? I’ve seen reviewers too. FOLLOW. Because I will need people to critique my books, good or bad, doesn’t matter. Some help is better than none at all. I’ll keep you guys updated. Thanks to all who follow me.

5 thoughts on “Goodmorning!! I woke up on time!!!”

  1. I am sure you will suceed :). And its hard being someone’s boss but you will get used to it. I hope you sare pics here. I like the professional photographer idea better. Good luck and merry Christmas 🙂

Leave a Reply

